The Blue Note

“I was at a jazz concert at The Blue Note, standing in the back of the standing area, when I noticed a man reaching forward and touching a woman in front of him between her legs. The first time it happened, the woman turned and looked around. Then she smiled at him and he smiled back and I thought maybe they know each other and she’s okay with this behavior.

Then he did it again. He reached out really quickly and touched her genitals. She whipped around, but didn’t notice it was him. At this point, I felt completely panicked. I told my partner what I saw and we went to find security in the lobby. At first, I spoke to a woman in a Blue Note shirt and she notified a man from Blue Note security. He jumped into action and asked who it was. I gave a description of a tall, white-haired man standing in the back of the crowd and he followed us to where we had been standing. My partner pointed the man out to Blue Note security and they said they would watch him, but they couldn’t do anything if they didn’t see anything.

The Blue Note security guy told us something like, “There are always creepy old men at shows like this.”

At first I was impressed with The Blue Note security’s quick response to a reported sexual assault, but once I understood that there would be no attempt to confront or remove the man until someone employed by The Blue Note witnessed misconduct, we left immediately. I could not stand around waiting for this man to commit sexual assault again.”

Leave a comment